GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 22 November 2013.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mr D S Daley, Ms A Harrison, Mr R J Parry and Mrs Z Wiltshire

OFFICERS: Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

12. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 4 October 2013 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

13. Authority Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent *(Item B1)*

- (1) The Panel agreed to accept the following additional nominations:-
- (a) Mr K Long for Ditton Infant School;
- (b) Ms J Maynard for St Botolph's CE Primary School;
- (c) Miss H Humphrey-Baker for Claremont Primary School; and
- (d) Mrs M Cleaver for Davington Primary School.

(2) The School Governance Officer informed the Panel that Miss F Daly had withdrawn her nomination to the Governing Body of The Oaks Community Infant School.

(3) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors to primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units, the Pool of Additional Governors and nominations to non-Authority Academies be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

14. Amendments to the Guidelines for the Appointment of Local Authority Governors

(Item B2)

(1) The School Governance Officer asked the Panel to note that the recommended changes to the guidelines would need to be passed to Selection and Member Services Committee for its decision.

(2) The Chairman moved and it was duly seconded that the recommended change to the guidelines be amended by the replacement of "grandparent" with "a close relative."

Carried unanimously

(3) On being put to the vote, the revised recommendations were unanimously agreed.

(4) RESOLVED that Selection and Member Services Committee be recommended to amend the existing "General principles and expectations" (2) to read:

"A person is unlikely to be successfully nominated to a school's governing body if he/she is"

(2) eligible for election as a Parent Governor or is a close relative of a child at the school to which they are applying."

APPENDIX (Paragraph 13 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

School

High Halden CE Primary School St Theresa's Catholic Primary School Victoria Road Primary School Wittersham CE Primary School

2. CANTERBURY

School

Bridge and Patrixbourne CE Primary School St Mary's Catholic Primary School St Stephen's Infant School Whitstable Junior School

3. DARTFORD

School

Dartford Bridge Community School Dartford Bridge Community School Stone St Mary's CE Primary School

4. DOVER

School Ash Cartwright and Kelsey CE Primary School St Margaret's-at-Cliffe Primary School

5. GRAVESHAM

School

Culverstone Green Primary School Sheers Green Junior School St Botolph's CE Primary School

6. MAIDSTONE

School Coxheath Primary School East Borough Primary School East Borough Primary School Mr J Rutland Mr J Moon Mr T Botfield Mr J Carroll

Appointee

Mrs C Hellman Mr P Sandey Mr B McPhee Ms M Donnellan

Appointee

Dr A Jefford Mr J Muckle Mr A Bonthron

Appointee

Prof W Vennart Mrs B Wells

Appointee

Mrs D Bramer Mrs M Wessel Ms J Maynard

Appointee

Mrs J Andrew Mr D Hollands Mr M Palmby

7. SEVENOAKS

School

Riverhead Infant School St Bartholomew's Catholic Primary School Weald Community Primary School

8. SHEPWAY

School Hythe Bay CE Primary School

9. SWALE

School Davington Primary School

10. THANET

School Ellington and Hereson School St Anthony's School Stone Bay School

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

Burham CE Primary School Ditton Infant School Ryarsh Primary School St Stephen's Primary School Stansted CE Primary School

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Bishops Down Primary School Claremont Primary School Goudhurst and Kilndown CE Primary School Paddock Wood Primary School Tunbridge Wells Girls Grammar School

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

PRU West Kent Health Needs Education Service

14. PROPOSED FEDERATIONS

- 15. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS
- 16. NOMINATIONS TO ACADEMIES

Appointee

Mr N Dawes Mrs J Carter Mrs C Smith

Appointee Mrs K Belcourt

Appointee Mrs M Cleaver

Appointee

Mr D Collins Mrs C Stanion Mr J Duke

Appointee

Mrs M Davies Mr K Long Mrs R Rowland Mr P Williams Mrs L Mason

Appointee

Mr J Watson Mrs H Humphrey-Baker Mr C Noakes Ms S Hamilton Mrs S Cooke

Appointee Mr D Mills